Accidentally Vegan Treats on the High Street

Both myself and the Teen are cake fiends and love finding sweet treats to indulge our sweet tooth. While he can merrily pop into anywhere on the high street to buy a cake it is a lot more difficult for me as a vegan. Not all establishments – yes Costa, I’m talking to you! – have something to offer if you’re dairy and/or egg free. You can imagine the delight within the vegan community when Greggs, the national bakery chain, announced that its Belgian Buns were SFV across the country. Historically some branches had stocked a version that couldn’t be eaten by vegans and the advice was to check the allergen file in store. In the last few weeks Greggs have confirmed that they have standardized the product throughout the country which means one more treat for us to enjoy. Hurrah! We recently purchased 2 for £1 and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The icing is plentiful and the pastry is moist thanks to apricot jam. For the neighsayers pictured above is the confirmation from Greggs themselves these do not contain gelatine. Packed with juicy sultanas, it is the perfect afternoon treat with a cuppa.It’s no secret that the bakery doughnuts national food retailer Co-op sell in-store are vegan. The issue for me was finding one local to me that had them in stock to try. A DM on Twitter and, lo and behold, I was told the Newcastle city centre branch sold them. The fact that it was two packs for just £1 made it even better.It is a bit concerning that there is no ingredient info on the back of the packet as even items that have been SFV historically can have their recipe adapted over time. The ones to look out for in the shop are the Jam and Custard varieties.There’s 5 in a pack and the generous filling has been injected into the centre. I personally find them quite ‘bready’ and they can be dry depending on how much filling they have. I’ve heard surprise from some who love these and couldn’t believe they were vegan. I really don’t know what people think we eat all day. Grass? Some vegans like junk food too, you know!

With so many accidentally vegan products like Bourbons, Hob Nobs and Sainsbury’s Bacon Crispies – yep, they’ve never been near a pig during manufacture –  it’s becoming easier to avoid animal products and still indulge.

Thanks for reading,

Pip x

Want to find out more about which supermarket products are suitable for vegans? Check out this post on some new additions to our weekly shopping list.

7 Comments

  1. Jen Chapman

    I was told by a vegan friend that the buns were vegan, after I bought some & showed him, he was like ‘oh apparently Greggs have 2 different suppliers for these buns’ one of which are vegan & the other isn’t?

    Reply
    1. Emma Phillips (Post author)

      As I said in the post that used to be the case, but Head Office have confirmed they only have one recipe/supplier now for these. We checked the allergen folder in branch and they were definitely suitable.

      Reply
  2. Sara

    I thought the ingredient that isn’t/wasn’t vegan was gelatine? Which wouldn’t show up on an allergen chart and may still be an ingredient.

    Reply
    1. Emma Phillips (Post author)

      I’ve included screenshots in my post now with the confirmation from Greggs they do not contain gelatine and are suitable for vegans. I would not have written this post if I was not clear on whether they were suitable for vegans or not as I would hate to eat something myself that isn’t ‘kosher’.

      Reply
  3. If you know Cramlington at all, I am pretty sure that the Co-op garage on the Moor House Roundabout (next to McDonalds and Brewers Fayre) sells these doughnuts. Not exactly local but handy if you are heading out for the day via the A1/A19 and need petrol x

    Reply
    1. Emma Phillips (Post author)

      Good to know! I’m now obsessed with the custard variety 🙂

      Reply
    2. Christine

      I buy mine from there I’m literally 2 mins away

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *